Living Out Loud!

In his closing keynote at ECOO13, @KevinHoneycutt challenged educators everywhere, telling us we all need to start to “Live Out Loud!” – to share what we are exploring and learning, and tell the stories of the successes in our classrooms so that other educators can learn from them and the world can hear what amazing things our students are doing in our schools today.

LiveOutLoud

But unlike many of my connected colleagues, I haven’t become comfortable enough to do this, even after 4 years in here —- yet.

Apparently I’m not alone. Like a ka-jillion others, I may appear to have a great confidence and entertaining style when I’m teaching and presenting, but I’m actually pretty shy and insecure underneath it all. And writing something publicly makes you really vulnerable. And feeling vulnerable can be really uncomfortable

Picture 7

I can just hear Kevin saying to all of us: “You guys just gotta get over it!  We need to share our stories!”

Picture 11

Picture 8

Both in his presentation, and again reading these Twitter conversations, Kevin’s challenge resonated with me on a number of levels.  I’ve just quit teaching in the classroom (I didn’t completely retire, I’m simply re-calibrating!) and one of my biggest goals this year is to do all those things I’ve been putting off until I retired.

So in response to this challenge, I’m hereby making 2 genuine commitments to myself:

#1.  I will “web-log” stories from my professional teaching and learning in here at least once or twice a week from now on.  [One of the my newest journeys on which I'm about to embark is joining the world of iTDi - trying to support teachers around the world who are struggling to improve their students' learning through online PD, in places where professional support is either too difficult or unavailable to them. Please check out iTDi if you think you could help them out as well.]

And even more meaningfully to me —

Stories1

Picture 5

#2.  …. I will start to actually publish some of my personal stories on my personal blog – some of those journeys very definitely pretty far off the beaten path.  And if you want to read them, please just let me know, as I think it’s still going to take a while for me to develop the courage needed to post them for anyone in the whole world to see!

OK Kevin, I’ve started.  First one’s done for this week, for Living Out Loud!   (-:

Thanks from the heart for both the courage and the inspiration.

About Cathy Beach

Newly retired intermediate teacher and outdoor educator in rural Ontario, Canada. My Olympic Journeys may be over, but they've led me into some pretty exciting adventures with teachers and kids and the world of connected learning...
This entry was posted in 21st Century Learning, education, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Living Out Loud!

  1. Pingback: This Week in Ontario Edublogs | doug --- off the record

  2. Cathy,

    I saw Kevin at a keynote in Palm Springs, California. He was absolutely amazing! One message that he gave me was to start making more tutorials with students. They don’t have to be perfect, just get them out there. They kids are learning as they are making them. I have not been completely successful with completing them and publishing them, but his message is on my mind…always.

    Thanks for sharing out loud!

    ~Linda Yollis

Leave a Reply

