Is Sleep the Final Frontier?

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about sleep– since I haven’t been getting enough of it lately!

Between
* writing-report-cards,
* reading-tweets-blogs-articles-online, oh and
* teaching-for-a-living…

I’ve been wishing I simply didn’t need to sleep at all. I mean, it’s pretty weird when you stop to think about it.

Once a day, everyone in the entire world puts their life on hold, completely checks out of all the action, and puts their trust in the rest of the world that everything’ll be all right — until they’re ready to awaken and get back up and start living their life again.

A THIRD of our day is lost to sleep! If only we didn’t need to sleep… We could get an entire third more of LIFE!

Think of all the things we could do… I’d have time to catch up with friends, go grocery shopping, catch a movie, read a book, write a post, paint a picture, clean the house, and well, you know, all those other things we always want time to do…

And if I’ve thought of this, ten million other people have thought of it too. I’ve absolutely no doubt in my mind there are people working on this problem right now – trying to find the magical elixir that’ll do all of those things that our brains and bodies need time to do while we just sleep. That tiny magic blue pill that will let us take advantage of that other hidden third of our life…

I can just see it now,
3010…
Sleep is an entirely alien concept:
why would anyone just stop living
and willingly go unconscious for 8 hours
— EVERY day?!?

People in the Somniatic Period had to DO that???
Absurd and barbaric!

But back here on earth right now, it hurts my soul thinking about a time where so many things natural have been replaced by so many foreign compounds that people don’t even know what being human was ever really like. And as well, there’s that single moment when I get to lay my heavy head down upon a soft fresh white pillow that’s one of my favourite pleasures I enjoy, every day.

So while I definitely don’t want to be taking any little blue pills, still, the thought of having that other third of my life is a pretty intriguing thought…

Sleeping Statue

About Cathy Beach

Recently retired elementary teacher and outdoor educator in rural Ontario, Canada. My Olympic Journeys may be over, but they lead me into some very exciting adventures with teachers and kids and the world of connected learning...
This entry was posted in technology, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

