Beaten on the Journey Path

Well, what a couple of weeks this has been. Ups and downs as high and low as a rockin’ roller coaster! Feeling like I’ve been beaten black and blue both from within and without.
This ain’t no walk in the park, eh? Innovating in a classroom, in a school, in a public board of education, it’s all really, really, really, really hard work. We make mistakes. We lose our way. We lose support. We lose our faith. We lose site of our goals.  We want to quit, just lay down, and give it all up.

And then one of your kids looks up to you and says:
“I love this! Can we do this every day?”
“Hey look! This is really cool!”
“Let’s not do the other work anymore.”
“Can I bring my laptop to school too? Really?!? REALLY?!?”
“Can I just email my assignment to you?”
“Hey Miss Beach, XXX just taught me how to do that — you just…”
“This is SO good!!!”
“ELBOWS!” (Take your hands off the keyboards) “I just figured out how to change your avatar pic, and I want to tell you how. You have to go to…”
“Is it time to go already?!? Man, that went fast. I thought it was only half way done.”
“Can we do this again tomorrow?”
“Call me tonight, and we can finish it online…”
“We’re going to do it ourselves, you bring all the things we need…”
“This was the best day of my life.”

And the flashes of smiles, the excitement, the electric energy in the air — they blow away the memories of the falls and bruises, and we know we can stay at, and we know there’ll always be another day.

Such is the life of a teacher trying to create a relevant and worthwhile education for 21st Century digital kids.  There’s always a tomorrow, and tomorrow is always another day.

About Cathy Beach

Recently retired elementary teacher and outdoor educator in rural Ontario, Canada. My Olympic Journeys may be over, but they lead me into some very exciting adventures with teachers and kids and the world of connected learning...
This entry was posted in 21st Century Learning, Change, education, technology. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beaten on the Journey Path

  1. I agree. Teaching differently, whether it’s with tech, inquiry, PBL, whatever, is incredibly hard. But it’s also the most rewarding because of the impact it has on students. I enjoy the easy, satisfying moments when I can because I never know how long they’ll last. Inquiry is a roller coaster. It’s one of the hardest things I’ve ever done.

    All I can say is keep going. Keep moving forward. It’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

