Monarchs and Transformations

This morning, I was excited to see that 2 of my mature monarch caterpillars had attached themselves and were hanging in a ‘J’ shape getting ready to pupate into their beautiful new case, and 2 new baby monarch caterpillars had emerged from their egg cases – it was the 1st time I’d seen them so new that they were still eating the egg sac! In total, I found 10 newly emerged caterpillars this morning, which suggests that their eggs were probably all laid around the same time.

Look VERY closely! Can you find all 10 newly hatched this mor... on Twitpic Click on the picture to try find all 10 newly hatched caterpillars!

What has that got to do my Chemong Company of Adventurers? For me, August is the time to get ready for an entirely new class of Grade 7 students, and to prepare an entirely new set of lessons for the returning Grade 8′s.  And just like my caterpillars, I expect they will all have transformed themselves in different ways over the summer, so I always look forward to listening and learning who each student has become when they return the first week of school.

I am really hoping that I’ll have some caterpillars and chrysalises to share with them, so that they can enjoy seeing them emerge and releasing them into the wild. The monarchs we release here in Ontario are a part of that “Super Monarch” generation which fly all the way from here to Mexico in one amazing journey, so perhaps some of my students will be interested in learning more about their amazing transformations and journeys.

I’ve decided to post a daily set of pictures here so that anyone interested can enjoy watching the transformations without having to care for them themselves.

Meanwhile, I’d better get back to preparing for my students’ own transformations when they return back to school in 3 weeks time!

About Cathy Beach

Recently retired elementary teacher and outdoor educator in rural Ontario, Canada. My Olympic Journeys may be over, but they lead me into some very exciting adventures with teachers and kids and the world of connected learning...
This entry was posted in Change and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

