What – Me Blog?!?

If there’s one thing I’ve learned over the past few years, it’s that I’m nothing special — meaning that if I’m feeling or thinking something, likely half a zillion other people are feeling or thinking the very same thing too. So I can’t be the only one still finding it difficult to figure out this whole thing about sharing my trials and tribulations in making the shift in  my classroom in a feels-too-public-to-me online forum like a blog!

I really heard what Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach said at our opening kick-off about building our collective intelligence, the room being smarter than any one individual could ever be, and needing to share our experiences …  But do I really also want to risk exposing my confusion and frustrations and insecurities, my lack of knowledge and skills and understandings and… and….  ?!?  And won’t blogging and sharing my thoughts just feed my already bigger-than-I’d-like-it-to-be self-indulgent self-centered ego? I’m trying to shrink it!  I’m great with sharing all kinds of things I’ve discovered with other educators – I live and breathe that mentality. But expose my fears and questions and just down-right confused thinking? I already talk too much!!

I simply don’t get this blogging thing. Really. I’m far safer keeping quiet, and just writing for myself. Someone want to fill me in? Convince me? Explain it again? Reassure me? What am I supposed to say and do again???

About Cathy Beach

Recently retired elementary teacher and outdoor educator in rural Ontario, Canada. My Olympic Journeys may be over, but they lead me into some very exciting adventures with teachers and kids and the world of connected learning...
This entry was posted in 21st Century Learning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

