A Grade 1 “Tech Twins” Project comes to life

When I was planning to retire, I asked one of my amazing teacher friends, Mrs. Fenn (@toadmummy) if I could come and do art with the kids in her Grade 1 class when I retired. She does the most AWESOME art with her students, and I knew this’d be the perfect way to keep me from ever missing the “kids”.

PicassoHalloweenArt

PicassoHalloweenArt

One of my favourite art projects shared by Mrs. Fenn: PicassoMonsterArt

One of my favourite art projects shared by Mrs. Fenn: PicassoMonsterArt

In return, Mrs. Fenn asked me if I would help her to shift her classroom and her teaching practice, and to learn how to find that “Sweet Spot” from the TPACK model – how to choose the most appropriate Technology to use and combine with her master teacher expertise in teaching Pedagogy and Content Knowledge of the Grade 1 curriculum.

So in August, when she sat down to collaborate with her amazing teacher friend, Mrs. Melnik (@melnikdm), who teaches her own Grade 1 class in a town about 20 km away,  it was a natural for us to start getting excited about the students using videoconferencing to communicate, share, and teach each other all year long.

And Voila! The “Tech Twins” project was born.

About Cathy Beach

Recently retired elementary teacher and outdoor educator in rural Ontario, Canada. My Olympic Journeys may be over, but they lead me into some very exciting adventures with teachers and kids and the world of connected learning...
This entry was posted in TechTwinProject and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

