Gedding a Cosmic Shift TODAY

[4th post in the “Gedding It” Series]

Alas — I can’t have the future today…

So my brain started spinning with ideas about how I could use Geddit right away with the Gr 7+8 split grade math class in which I’m volunteering in my “spare time” these days. I decided to try to create a routine where I can help the Grade 7’s learn their math, even when I’m not physically present in the classroom every single day!

Nope, I’m not crazy.  There are 2 big pay-offs for me volunteering my time and energy in this way:
1. increase my own learning about teaching and learning online, and
2. learn how blended learning can help a teacher manage a split-grade class.

For me, Geddit’s the key to keeping in touch with my students and their learning! The other learning tools are very nice. But Geddit is the one that has finally helped me make that cosmic shift in understanding how I can possibly communicate effectively with my students about their learning when teaching online. Some day I hope Geddit and all of these tools will have become an invisible component in one single seamless communication system where we’ve closed the gap as much as we can between being together with our students in the classroom and being connected with them online —  whether from hundreds or millions of miles away.

Meanwhile, here’s my 4-part plan for the present!  (-;

First: We’ll use EDMODO as our online learning management system. We’ll post things here, and the students can use it to communicate with their classroom teacher, their classmates, and me as their online teacher — whether I’m at school that day or not.

Secondly: The students will use GEDDIT to continually update their level of understanding for their teacher and I, to let us know if they need extra help or extensions added before starting a new topic.   * The students’ Geddit updates will become an integral part of their formative assessments of and for learning.

Thirdly: We’ll be using VOICETHREAD and SCREENCASTS for the students to show their understanding orally, and to discuss their problems and answers with their classmates.  * These will become another part of both their formative assessments, and will be shared with parents as evidence of their ongoing learning.

Finally: At the end of the unit, students will create a Math SCREENCAST in partners, and post it to their Math VoiceThreads.
  * This will become a part of their summative assessment at the end of the unit, and will be shared with parents as well.

At least that’s the plan….

Now to see how it works.

(Please! Do you have any helpful suggestions for me?)

 

 

About Cathy Beach

Recently retired elementary teacher and outdoor educator in rural Ontario, Canada. My Olympic Journeys may be over, but they lead me into some very exciting adventures with teachers and kids and the world of connected learning...
This entry was posted in 21st Century Learning, education and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gedding a Cosmic Shift TODAY

  1. Pingback: OTR Links 03/29/2014 | doug --- off the record

  2. Pingback: What did You learn today? | Journeys off the Beaten Path…

  3. Pingback: Day 2: Keep It Short! | Ontario School and System Leaders Edtech MOOC

Leave a Reply

