A Haunting Last Day Memory: Now What?

What’s your strongest memory of the last day of school?

Mine happened when I was 9 or 10, and it was one of those quiet cloudy days – a grey cloudy sky, just biding its time with the promise of rain for later, no bright colourful sunshine, just warm and still and oppressive. One of those lost “nothing” days.

I can picture it as clearly as if it was yesterday: school was out for the summer, we’d all run home excitedly screaming our celebration and joy — and after dumping my old notebooks and downing a cold glass of lemonade, I wandered outside to play with the neighbourhood kids.

But on that very still cloudy day, I felt empty inside, and I distinctly remember thinking – “Now What?”

It struck me to the core, that unexpected let-down feeling:  no exciting summer trip to pack for,  no party to go to,  no special activity planned – just school’s out, my classmate’s have all gone away, nothing’s happening….  and….  Now what?

So tomorrow, I wonder how many of our kids will go home from school on their very last day, and wander around feeling empty inside, and asking themselves,

“Now What?”

I hope somebody answers them!

About Cathy Beach

Recently retired elementary teacher and outdoor educator in rural Ontario, Canada. My Olympic Journeys may be over, but they lead me into some very exciting adventures with teachers and kids and the world of connected learning...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

