230 days and 230 nights

It’s been 230 days since I submitted a major project proposal to the Canadian Government and started waiting for their response*. And after 7 long months, we haven’t received an actual No — but we still haven’t gotten a definitive Yes, Go Ahead! either.

Because of this, because I haven’t known which direction my life is going to go in the coming months, I haven’t wanted to get involved in any other big projects. So I’ve had lots and lots and lots of time to think.

There’ve been days when I seemed to absolutely float along the crest of a wave of high hopes and exhilarating expectations, as I developed my ideas even further, and added new depth and dimensions to my dreams of what could possibly come to be. And at other times, when I feared the deafening silence might be a more personal condemnation of my own lack of skills or experience, I’ve ridden down into deep troughs of self-doubt and self-examination.

But interestingly, in an email to @dougpete this past weekend, I realized that all of these days of silence and solitude have afforded me an unexpected opportunity to examine and clarify what is really important to me at this juncture in my semi-retired life, and to realize some of the very valuable lessons about teaching and learning I’ve learned along the way.

So for my own satisfaction I’ve decided to share some of the lessons my students and my colleagues in education have taught me – from the utterly sublime to the ridiculously inane. And if they’re any  value to you or someone else,  a thousand times all the better.  

(*Since this project is still before the government and its outcome is still unknown, I don’t feel comfortable sharing the details. Fingers and toes crossed that this may change soon though!)

 

About Cathy Beach

Recently retired elementary teacher and outdoor educator in rural Ontario, Canada. My Olympic Journeys may be over, but they lead me into some very exciting adventures with teachers and kids and the world of connected learning...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

